Today, the Mexican music industry has taken a severe blow, I think that I can include the Mexican community as well. Mexican- American singer Jenny Rivera was killed in a fatal plane crash. She was not any artist she was prominent in her role as a woman in the genres of banda and nortena music which are dominated by men. I recall several of her interviews where she said that she grew up being in the studio with her father, who owned a record label, and she always said that she wanted to be a singer for those genres because there was no reason for it to be exclusively for men.

She had performed in the city of Monterrey and was headed to Mexico City for another performance. At around 7 PM today, my mom had told me that her plane was missing since that was all that they knew at the time about 30 minutes later they had confirmed her death. They found the plane that she was in with 5 other passengers plus 2 pilots completely destroyed. They still haven’t found the bodies, at least not hers.

As I found this out, it seriously saddened me at how fast a life can be lost. She left behind five children as well as a supporting fan base and many people in the hispanic entertainment world who all quickly responded to the tragic news.

This was the last photograph that she posted on her Twitter account

A9icQ6vCIAAqm8H.jpg-large